Data of interest

Official name United Republic of Tanzania
Surface 947.300 km²
Population 48.261.942
Capital city Dodoma – Main city: Dar es Salaam
Ethnic groups African 99% (of which 95% are Bantu consisting of more than 130 tribes), other 1% (consisting of Asian, European, and Arab); Zanzibar – Arab, African, mixed Arab and African.
Languages Kiswahili or Swahili (official), English (official, primary language of commerce, administration, and higher education), Arabic (widely spoken in Zanzibar), many local languages.
Religions Mainland – Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenous beliefs 35%; Zanzibar – more than 99% Muslim
Political system Presidential multiparty republic
Life expectancy at birth 60.76 years (Est. 2013)
GDP – per capita 1,700 USD (Est. 2012)
Currency Tanzanian shilling

Find more about Tanzania in


Post Details

Posted: 22/07/2013


Comments: 0

Post Categories